How Tweet it is, Twit.

Make no mistake, I am very “old school” when it comes to Twitter.  What a useless application for my generation.  But then, most of the people who know me, know that I really don’t care what they are doing at the moment.  And, it’s almost impossible to wax philosophical in 140 characters, so how brilliant or unique can you be Tweeting?

That said, I definitely like using WordPress and anything useful, I’ll attempt.

Our institution has itself on Twitter as http://twitter.com/uncfsu .  One of our student pages has a scroller which pulls from the Twitter account. 

So, how can you get your campus info person to Tweet, when they don’t see the need, or have the desire to take on the extra work?  Simple.  Add a WordPress plugin that will automatically send Tweets when a new post is added to the WordPress site.  Enter, the “WP to Twitter” plugin.

This plugin uses Cli.gs to truncate link URLs so that they can be easily added to a Tweet.  TinyURL also accomplishes this. *Should be a feature that could be added to IIS or Apache web servers so that every site page could have a truncated URL redirect created.

This plugin worked “out of the box.”  However, I think Cli.gs may be slow under load.

