Ramps, Fingerling Potatoes & Chevre Frais

Several years ago, when I had begun to try various and “new to me” foods, I came across something called a “ramp”.  I was walking through the WNC Farmers’ Market in Asheville, NC at the time and saw these leafy, wild onion looking plants bunched up for sale.  The dirt was still on the tubers.

I asked what they were and it was explained to me, but seeing that they have a unique flavor and the parts are oddly put together (imagine the tuber of a wild onion, with a flat green leaf growing above ground).  In flavor, they are as strong and unique as garlic, but they don’t taste like garlic.

Fortunately, I did not google for recipies (yet), so I tried the following:

The Market had provided me with fingerling white potatoes.  I believe someone had named them “gravelling” potatoes, since they were small like pebbles.  On that trip, I think I had also travelled down into South Georgia, to Thomasville, and the “Sweet Grass Dairy” and had bought various cheeses, including some Chevre Frais (fresh, soft goat cheese).

So on a skillet, I began to saute the ramps (tops and tubers, chopped) in olive oil.  After they began to soften, I added the potatoes which I had sliced, and then as the potato edges began to brown, I added the Chevre Frais, along with a little Half & Half which formed a thick cream sauce for the ramps & potatoes.  Salt & pepper to taste.

This went well with a pan fried steak.  Steamed broccoli or broccolini, or a salad would compliment this also.

I found that I could clean and freeze the ramps for later use, which could last into the fall easily.

http://ncalternativecropsandorganics.blogspot.com/search/label/ramps

