An Example of False Advertising on the Web

 

I have seen this same ad run on the WRAL web site and now I see it on the News and Observer site. However, I see that the company now “hard codes” the city/state into the ad on the server side. When I was looking at it on the WRAL site, you could view the javascript coding that would make the city/state change depending upon where the web viewer was located.

I was on the N&O site and recognized this false ad:

http://www.channel6reports.com/finance/?n=205&k=McClatchy

So, if you were in Fayetteville, NC, “Kelly Richards” was from Fayetteville, NC. However, if you were viewing from Stark, Florida, then Kelly Richards was from Stark, Florida… and since I was playing with a smartphone that was registered, apparently in Stark, Florida, I could see that Kelly Richards was a mom from two drastically distant areas at the same time.

Here is a photo from my web browser in Fayetteville,

 

and also from my HTC Hero phone at the same time.

