What I believe…

Having only read a couple of hundred verses of the Quran, which is a very small portion of it, my belief in Jesus as Messiah, Saviour, seems even more wonderful. On one hand they seem to agree that He is Messiah, but they take a different journey to missing the point, that He had to die upon the Cross to be the Messiah is so offensive that they offer the explanation of a “substitute” upon the Cross who died. What is odious to them, is a sweet smell to us, and that is because we see His sacrifice as the necessary completion of why He was sent to Earth.

They understand Abraham. They would surely understand animal sacrifice. And, you don’t take a blemished or sick animal to sacrifice, but one that is unblemished and pure. Wouldn’t someone question how killing an animal satisfies God for the sins we men have committed? But, if you believe that an unblemished animal sacrifice can cleanse us from our sins, and this sacrifice must necessarily be repeated again and again, then what is more perfect than the sacrifice of a sinless man? And here is one stumbling block, someone will say, “But there is no one that is sinless, but God.” But, Christians believe that God gave Jesus the power and direction to lead a sinless life… up to the Cross.

What of Abraham’s sacrifice of his son, Isaac? That God knew He would provide Abraham with a sacrificial lamb, caught in the branches of a bush, isn’t the focal point of the story. What is important is that Abraham, in his old age, having at that time an only son, loved and trusted God enough to take the one thing he loved greatly, his son, and go into the desert to offer God a sacrifice. This journey makes everything crystal to both Abraham and Isaac. No earthly father could set a better example to his son, than what Abraham did here. And, the example isn’t lost on Isaac. I don’t know if he ever gasped air as he came to realize that he was “the sacrifice,” that his father was willing to offer to God. Or maybe Isaac offered a sigh of relief when he heard the bleating of the sheep. For, no one wants to die, although for a higher purpose some will offer themselves.

Didn’t Jesus pray fervently in the Garden that this task be taken from him? And yet, ultimately he said, “not my will, but Thine Oh Lord.” There was no sheep caught in the thicket, to act as a substitute for Jesus. There was no “other person” who took on the form of Jesus so that Jesus wouldn’t have to die. In fact, if someone else had acted as a substitute, Jesus would not have been the Messiah, Saviour.

The perfect, sinless one, was nailed to a cross and became sin for us. One that is nailed to a cross is cursed. If God can be merciful to whom He will, then can He not purify whom He will. Jesus did not remain on the Cross. His side was pierced and blood and water flowed from his wounds, and yet, not a bone was broken. He died, and was taken and buried.

But the wonder of God is that on the third day, the Christ arose to sit at the right-hand of God. And, that all things might be brought in subjection under Him, Christ.

Some falter upon the notion of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. God is One.

Quran 4:171 Sahih International

O People of the Scripture, do not commit excess in your religion or say about Allah except the truth. The Messiah, Jesus, the son of Mary, was but a messenger of Allah and His word which He directed to Mary and a soul [created at a command] from Him. So believe in Allah and His messengers. And do not say, “Three”; desist – it is better for you. Indeed, Allah is but one God. Exalted is He above having a son. To Him belongs whatever is in the heavens and whatever is on the earth. And sufficient is Allah as Disposer of affairs.

My experience with the Holy Spirit tells me that there is no jealousy or rivalry between the three, they are One. It’s not an Earthly thought or concept. It is a Heavenly or Divine one. The closest thing I can use as an analogy of the three being one, is that of me, and my hand and my foot. If I do something with my hand, does my hand deserve a separate honor from me? No. If someone kisses my hand to honor me, do I become jealous of my hand in that it received the honor? No. It is one with me. Does my hand hold itself up in a kingly gesture because it was kissed? No. It’s my hand, a part of me. And, what of my foot. Does it become jealous of my hand? No. We are all working together. The parts are not separate. They make up the whole. We are one.


