Doing the “Freddy”

I’m not sure if it was 1964 or 1965 when our class presented a show on the auditorium stage for the rest of the school.  I don’t recall much about it except for the following:

The song, “King of the Road” by Roger Miller was popular at the time, and I wanted to be a part of the group of boys that performed it, but at some point, I was put into a secondary group that was to do “the Freddy,” a dance, that went along with the song, “I’m Telling You Now” by Freddy and the Dreamers.   The moves of the dance were sort of like flapping your arms & legs like wings (you’ll see by the video).  Well, part way through the song, I noticed that people on the front row were beginning to point and laugh.  It was then that I looked down and found that my zipper was down.  I guess my two options would have been to reach down and zip it up, or turn around and zip it up… or (only two choices?), just keep dancing… which is what I did.

This was the Swansboro Elementary Cafeteria when I was in 1st through 5th Grades.  At the center, toward the back of this photo, there is a window.  This is where we took our food trays, dirty plates, and other garbage when we were through eating.  One day we had sauerkraut with our meal.  I didn’t like sauerkraut, so I didn’t eat that, and I didn’t finish the pint of Maola milk either.  I noticed that some boys were stuffing their empty milk cartons with their sauerkraut.  This was because there was one or more teachers standing where you took your tray to make sure we had eaten all our food.

I normally would not be bold enough to try this, but this day, I stuffed the sauerkraut into my half empty milk carton and walked up toward the window.  Apparently, the sharp eyed teacher had seen me.  She looked at my tray, and then lifted my milk carton, saying something to the effect, “Oh, you need to go back and finish your milk.”  Now, I believe that she knew exactly what she was doing.

I returned to the table and tried to swallow the sauerkraut and milk mixture, but after several attempts I went back to the window and left my tray.  I still do not like sauerkraut.  I like milk… but not sauerkraut!

