Hummus at Home

I bought a 7.75 oz. can of Hanover Garbanzo Beans at WalMart for 62 cents Hanover Garbanzo Beanstoday. I made some hummus from it, and it was really good. In fact, it was the best hummus I have ever had, and I hope to make it repeatedly from now on.

I used my little chopper and added the drained beans to it. I then added about a clove of garlic, some ground cumin, ground pepper, and a little salt. Then about the juice of half a lemon and started the grinding. It needed a little more liquid, so I added some of the bean liquid from the can, and a little olive oil and a little pecan oil. It pureed pretty quickly. I took a spoon and had a taste, and boy was I surprised. It was really good! As I said, it was the best I’ve ever had. I normally don’t like the texture of the beans. If they are not cooked enough, they are a little crunchy (not quite, but I don’t know the proper analogy). But these beans were fully cooked, about the texture of a fully cooked lima bean.

I ate the hummus with some Post Shredded Wheat (spoon size). I like the flavor and texture of the shredded wheat cereal with cheddar cheese also, or when I am eating olives.

The calorie count on the can seemed to say that the total calories of the beans should be about 165, but the gram count figured out to be about twice that. Something didn’t add up because the can says there are about 1.5 servings per can and that each serving should be 110 calories. But it also says that the serving size is 130 grams, and that is the amount I used to calculate what I had eaten (from FitDay).

ADDENDUM:

Here are some ideas from the web for hummus:

  • As a dip for raw veggies, or whole-grain crackers
  • As a sauce — try tossing with piping hot pasta and freshly roasted or steamed vegetables
  • As a topper for brown rice or other whole grain
  • Mixed with chopped olives, roasted portabello mushrooms, and roasted red peppers for a chunky side-dish

I bought a 15 oz. can of garbanzo beans (the WalMart brand) for 68 cents, and another 7.75 oz. can of the Hanover brand for 62 cents.

The WalMart brand beans weren’t as thoroughly cooked and it didn’t make as good hummus as theRoasted Red Peppers Hanover brand had.  Also, the 15 oz. can was pushing the limit of my chopper, so making about half as much at a time would probably be best.

I had a jar of roasted red peppers, some pistachios, and a green bell pepper.  I had thought about roasting the garlic before adding it, and will probably do that later because I think that will give the hummus a better flavor than the raw garlic.

