Part 3: When I Got Up That Morning I Hadn’t Planned On Moving!

Carlyle Recliner
Carlyle Recliner

I didn’t get to talk about the La-Z-Boy furniture in Part 2, as I thought I would so here is the story.

I drove to Raleigh on Sunday and went to the Farmers’ Market, as I normally do when I visit Raleigh in the summer. I bought some corn and tomatoes. Afterwards, I went to the La-Z-Boy showroom and was approached by one of the salesman. I told him that I wanted to see a chair, that had bent wood, and was a recliner. He took me to a couple of chairs that weren’t the one that I was looking for. On the 3rd try, he directed me to the Carlyle recliner shown here. Actually, the showroom chair had a different cloth pattern, but this is the one that I eventually settled upon.

 I wanted a red chair, maybe in leather. But, then I saw the bright pattern, and thought about getting a sofa and/or love seat in a red that was found in Floral Patternthe floral pattern of the chair. I wanted the chair to pop when you entered the room, so I eventually decided to get a more muted color from the pattern for the sofa & love seat (Quinn) which was closer to a teal green. Since the furniture was to be special ordered, and delivered together a couple of months from then, I also decided to have the sofa/love seat cushions in the floral pattern also. I now think I should have had two cushions in the floral, and two in the muted color. That way, I could put a colored & muted on the sofa, or two muted or two floral on the

Quinn Sofa
Quinn Sofa

sofa, or any of the possible combinations. That way there wouldn’t be so many floral cushions to take away from the pop of the chair.

Quinn Love Seat
Quinn Love Seat

The chair is a really comfortable recliner. It doesn’t look like a recliner. *Now I will have to get a coffee table and one or two end tables for the living room… and some kind of shelving or bookcase for my books, TV, and DVDs, etc. I’ve seen a minimalist wall shelf system from an Italian designer, Lago, called Linea, but they don’t have prices or any outlets in the United States.

 

Here are a couple of ideas that I liked from the Linea System catalog:

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m also going to need lamps, and probably a large painting for behind the sofa, and some type of “artsy” collage behind the dining room table.

*Here is one of my ideas that I came across while in the Bed, Bath & Beyond store a few weeks ago. I took a picture of these clocks displayed on the wall for sale, and then I realized that I liked the colors and the bead board background. I may want a smaller patterned bead, and not sure of the paint/wash. But, the idea was to have the bead board cut in a large round on Montage of Clocks on Displayone corner, to give the impression that it was part of a clock & clock face. Maybe just show the hours of 7, 8, 9 and part of 1[0] in large numbers in the upper right corner of the cut out bead board. Then place these other clocks (about $200 worth) as they appear in this photo. Not sure why I like this idea, but we will see.

A note on the floral pattern for the La-Z-Boy chair.  I got a hair cut a few weeks ago, and when I came out of the barber shop, I looked next door and decided to go into the Stedman House shop.  This is owned by an interior designer, Wanda Cockrell.  That name is interesting because I grew up knowing a Wanda Cockrell, from the Hubert, NC area that I think was a distant relative (maybe not, but I like her and think of her that way).  An assistant to Mrs. Cockrell was in the shop at the time and we struck up a conversation.  She took me in the back to show me a project they were currently working on.  To my surprise, when I walked up to the work table, there was a swatch of cloth in the exact same pattern as the floral pattern I had chosen from my recliner.  It wasn’t the same colors, but it was the exact pattern.  I made a comment that, “that is the pattern I’ve chosen from my La-Z-Boy chair”.  I could tell the woman didn’t believe me, but eventually, I thought to pull out my EVO and show her a picture of the chair and swatch of cloth.  Sure enough it was the same pattern.  So, I have good taste;-)

