I Would Rather Pick Up My Chromebook, Than Go to the Library.

Texting Generation More Likely To Read Books and Use the Library Than Older Americans

http://thejournal.com/articles/2013/06/25/texting-generation-more-likely-to-read-books-and-use-the-library-than-older-americans.aspx?=THE21

After reading the above article, I posted the following comment:

I am 59 years old, and in my earlier (pre-Web) days, spent many hours a week reading in the local library. I do not read fiction, nor biography, or history. If I read, it is usually related to the technical aspects of my work (computer consultant), or doing historical research in niche areas. When I look at a book in a library now, I think, “how out of date the info must be, I’ll go try to find the latest info online.” In my history research, I’ve spent hundreds (maybe more) of hours poring over old newspapers via microfilm. *I would rarely think to go “to the library,” when I have my Chromebook at hand, and reach for it quite often when watching TV, etc. Maybe old age means, I don’t want to go somewhere, but instead to sit, where I can comfortably project my reading on a large screen HDTV, use my bathroom, or make a cup of coffee, when I want to. And, when I am through doing my reading, I am just a few steps away from my comfortable bed;-)

The demographic group of 16-29 year olds is probably heavily weighted with high school & college students.  Of course this group would have more reason to visit a library.  Maybe if you further filtered the older age group by only choosing those that were currently enrolled in a higher ed (continuing education) endeavor, you would find that many more of those had visited a library in the last year.  Perhaps students, of whatever age, would have a similar need to go to a library.

If most of the materials were digitized, and the search process could be performed remotely, and I could connect with someone that could provide insights in how to perform my research, I wouldn’t feel a great need to physically go to a library.

