Thai Dye Tortilla Pizza at Home

Thai Dye Pizza from Mellow Mushroom
Thai Dye Pizza from Mellow Mushroom

Last night, I tried to recreate the flavors of the Thai Dye pizza in my flour tortilla @home pizza.  It was surprisingly close.

I didn’t want to have to cook a chicken breast to get the white chicken so I bought a can of “white chicken” chunks for $1.29 from Food Lion.  I put a little olive oil in a pan and added a few cloves of garlic (whole), some chopped onion, a small chopped tomato and added some basil.  I didn’t have Thai Basil (which is more pungent), but have had an adequate supply of Italian Basil that I have been growing on my patio this summer.  I added the chunks of white chicken and then sifted some McCormick’s Curry Powder over the entire lot.  I think I added a little salt and pepper here also.

While the ingredients were cooking on the stove top, I put one of my spinach, flour tortillas in a glass pie pan, spread some olive oil across the surface and added some powdered garlic.  When the chicken was done, I spread it over the tortilla shell.  I added several slices of cucumber about the ingredients.  I had some sweet Thai Chili sauce which I drizzled over the pizza ingredients.  I then spread grated mozzarella cheese across everything.

That’s it.  I had my oven heating on Broil at HI.  I slipped the pan into the oven on the top rack (maybe 4 or 5 inches from the top).  You can’t go away too long on this.  The pizza is usually done in a couple of minutes.  I think 4 minutes would make the top mostly black, but 2.5 to 3 minutes gets the edges browned and some of the cheese browned dotted about the pizza.

I then remove the pan from the oven, and use a pot holder to hold the hot pie pan on one edge tilting it over toward a waiting dinner plate.  I use a fork if I have to, and once the tortilla shell releases from the pie pan, the whole thing slips easily onto the plate.

The flavors were close enough to be quite pleasing, but I still like the “store bought” version because of the pizza dough’s flavor and saltiness.  I plan to make this again, and might even try using real pizza dough because I think the resulting product will satisfy my Thai Dye pizza craving.

