UNC-TV NC Community Colleges and CCCC

About a month or so ago, I was watching UNC-TV and they presented a segment on “North Carolina Community Colleges”. They highlight about 3 or 4 institutions per segment. There are 58 community colleges in North Carolina presently.

From the first episode, I learned that Isothermal Community College provides technical training for support at a large server farm. I didn’t recall that it was to support the local Facebook server complex.

Probably the next day, or so, at work, I thought to go look for the segment on Coastal Carolina Community College. I found the UNC-TV site, and started going down through the list. I made it to the end, and thought to myself that I had missed Coastal Carolina, so I started back through the list. Nope. No segment for Coastal Carolina Community College in Jacksonville, Onslow County, North Carolina. So, I thought it very strange that 57 out of 58 institutions were represented on the site. I also thought that maybe the UNC-TV staff had failed to list CCCC.

So, I sent an email to UNC-TV and asked if there was a reason why CCCC was not listed. I received an automated reply that I would be contacted shortly. I didn’t expect an immediate response because the Spring Fund Drive (whatever they call it) had just started and I thought that all the UNC-TV staff would be hard a work with the telethon. I also wrote to an executive secretary (apparently the wrong one) at Coastal Carolina asking the reason why they weren’t represented. I didn’t get a response back from either of my emails.

So, today, a little over a month after my first email inquiries, I thought to send another set of emails. UNC-TV responded later and said that Coastal Carolina Community College was the only institution that had not agreed to have a video segment, that they didn’t know why, and that I might contact CCCC for the reason. I found the email list of CCCC employees/staff/admin and finally found the person I should have asked previously. I was only contacting “executive secretaries” at this point.

But, later the PIO responded via email. Apparently there had been a scheduling conflict last summer (2013) when the video was scheduled to be made for Coastal.

My response was that if there was ever another opportunity like this, maybe hand off the task to some underling. Better to be represented, half-way, than not at all. And, if 57 out of 58 community colleges made the time for this, surely Coastal Carolina could have worked out the scheduling for this.

I’ve watched UNC-TV for over 40 years, and I know that it is a powerful communication’s tool. I don’t really care that Isothermal Community College is training networking techs to work at a large, local, Facebook server farm, but I do care about Coastal, even if I never plan to take another course there. It is touching base with my roots.

