Finally, the spaghetti special!

I took off Monday and Wednesday of this week, because Tuesday was Veterans Day. On Sunday, I realized that Monday might be the first time that I could visit Down on Main Street in Washington, NC and get their Spaghetti Special again. I had visited twice since my first visit with Leo Taylor, and both times they did not have spaghetti on the menu. My second visit was probably on a weekend and they said that the spaghetti special was only served on Mondays. It took another visit, during the summer, to find that they only have the spaghetti special on Mondays, AND not during the summer.

About 30 minutes up I95, I realize that I have forgotten my phone.  Darn, I’m not going back for it, but there goes the GPS and camera, and I don’t have my little red Canon camera either.  No pictures today. *And, that would have been nice when I saw the sea gulls atop the posts.

I took the chance and headed to “Little Washington” on Monday morning. The trip takes a little more than two hours, so I detoured through Greenville and by ECU. Purple buses and purple covered students, were plentiful, but there was at least one long haired blonde female student dressed in Carolina blue.

I made it to Down on Main Street about 11:30 am and saw no customers seated outside in the small courtyard. I went to the back door and opened it and went in. I was seated at the exact same, high chaired table, as I was seated my last visit.  *Let me say that being seated here is not that bad.  Many of the waitresses are very attractive and there is a constant stream of them going in and out of the kitchen.

My waitress came to the table. I asked about a hard apple cider that I had enjoyed previously. She had to “go back” and ask, but returned and suggested it might have been the Angry Orchard cider. I ordered that, water, and the spaghetti special ($5.99) with a house salad and honey mustard dressing. The spaghetti special was written simply on a small black A-framed chalkboard sitting on the floor.  *The entire meal, including tip was probably only about $16.

The salad arrived with my hard cider, and a package of soda crackers. The salad & dressing were good, and the apple cider was especially tasty.

When I was almost done eating my salad, the spaghetti plate arrived. There was a good portion of spaghetti noodles and sauce on the plate and a garliclly Texas Toast.

The spaghetti sauce was very good. They include onions, mushrooms and meat in the sauce which is way beyond what most restaurants attempt to serve their customers. Those extra ingredients, and the flavor, were what made my first experience so special. Leo and I both had the spaghetti special on our visit. We had sat at the bar, where several other customers were lined up eating various dished and sandwiches. I had looked at the spaghetti another customer was having and it did look good. Another customer told me that the spaghetti was good as well as their sandwiches.

After lunch, I headed down to Jacksonville, NC via the scenic route. I started toward Aurora, NC, but then deviated to the Minnesott Beach Ferry. I stopped in Grantsboro, at the Hess Station to fill up on gas.

I got to the ferry as the last several vehicles were unloading. I pulled up in a line of vehicles, probably about the 4th or 5th vehicle.

I had not ridden this ferry in probably 25 years. I know I rode this ferry several times when I was living in Jacksonville, before starting work in 1995 at FSU. I doubt that I would have taken the time and effort to come up and ride this ferry on one of my visits to Jacksonville/Hubert during my almost 20 years working at FSU.

The ferry ride only lasts about 20 minutes, but it is a wonderful little interlude.

I got out of my car and walked to the port side of the ferry, and then walked back to use the men’s restroom. I then walked up on the second, passenger deck, to watch the few seagulls flying about. A couple of gulls were standing atop the flag poles. Amazing that the gulls just stood there as if weathering a strong gale. There was a young boy with his father walking about and then to the stern of the vessel.

RamRod_logoRamRod_2pack

 

 

After the ferry crossing, I came back through Cherry Point/Havelock and headed back up Hwy. 70 to New Bern.  About a mile from the New Bern bridges, there is a tobacco shop.  I stopped in and bought the last (well, it was the last they had on display) two-pack of RamRod cigars they had.  I think the original price was under $3 for the two-pack, but now is about $7.  Even at this price they are a relatively good deal.  I cut each of them in half and that works for me.  *I just saw online that I could purchase them for about $3.45.

ADDENDUM:  Sometimes a melancholy comes over me and I wonder at the selfishness of us all (the Human Race).  We have friends and relatives that we “love”.  We sometimes have the eccentric pal or a buddy that seems to touch our inner selves, a fellow traveler along Life’s Path.  But, then I sometimes step back and wonder about the motives of us all.  Are we not all selfishly invested?  We give to our loved ones, but the unstated motive is that someday they will give back to us.  I try to be unselfish, and maybe I am, at times, but the selfish part of me taints my life far more often than not.

 

