Corn Chip Chili Recipe… Really?

cornchipchilirecipe-reallyIs this a filling recipe, or just “filler” for a magazine?  Don’t get me wrong.  The chili and chips look good, but when I read the recipe the first thing that came to mind was, “Well Duh!”

I guess I expected to have a list of ingredients for some good chili.  I’m glad they at least told us to “open the chips and add” because some less experienced cooks might have thrown the bags in without opening them.

Buy some chili, chips and heat & mix, viola!  If you can’t follow these directions, please wait until Taco Bell offers the “Corn Chip Chili” Taco Bowl.  For your next hearty dinner, just stop by Taco Bell and order a couple for your family.

Now I can throw away this clipping.  I had to save it to ask friends if there was a little something lacking in this recipe.

About a year ago, the apartment complex where I am living had a Chili Cook-Off for the residents.  I had never tried to cook chili from scratch (actually liking Wendy’s version… until I became aware that it was giving me regular indigestion) but made my first attempt.  From the initial outcome I decided not to enter the contest and just brought some really, really hot sauce.

Since then, I have tried several times to come up with my own chili concoction, and after several miserable failures, I have come close enough to be pleased.

I have tried ground beef several times, and even put some chocolate in one version.  Chocolate?  If you watch Chef Rick Bayless “Mexico. One Plate at a Time,” fixing mole(s), you realize that chocolate is a valid possibility.  I have put in Smoked Pakrika, green chilies, etc.

In my slow cooker…

 

Here are the basic ingredients:

  • Pinto beans (1 can)
  • Kidney beans (1 can)
  • Diced tomatoes (1 can)
  • Diced onion (a medium sized onion)
  • Sliced jalapeno peppers (half a cup)
  • Chicken stock (1 can – beef stock might be better)
  • Salt & pepper (freshly ground)
  • Jalapeno, Cayenne, Paprika, Chipotle peppers (ground or whole)
  • Cumin (ground or whole)
  • Garlic (powdered, or whole sliced)

The difference makers:

  • Smoked paprika (1/4 cup +)
  • Dried Spanish Chorizo (not the fresh)
  • Stew beef (is a package 1-2 lbs.)
  • Mild country sausage (1 lbs. – 1 or 2 links skins removed)
  • Sweetner (Agave nectar, Equal, etc.)

I think you could add green, red, yellow bell peppers for extra color and flavor.

Top with chopped Vidalia onion, sour cream, grated cheese (your choice) and open the bag of chips (the “bag for $2” version).

I think what made this passable for me was the dried Chorizo & smoked Paprika, with enough sweetner.

chorizo-chiliUnfortunately, this photo reminds me of the bathroom scene from “Desperado”;-)

