Opal Sweet Apple

20150319_095125I got a couple of these at Walmart in Fayetteville, NC yesterday.  I am about half way through my first one at the office this morning.  It looks like a Yellow Delicious on the outside and it has a white flesh inside, but it is much firmer than a Yellow or Red Delicious Apple.  I’m not sure how I would describe the flavor, other than good.  I think it would fry up well also.

Yes, I would buy more of these.  I like the distinctive flavors of the Braeburn and Honey Crisp apples, but Honey Crisps are about a dollar more, per pound that most other apples.  It surprised me several months ago when I brought 4 large Honey Crisps up to the grocery check out counter, and when they were run up, the price of the four came to a little more than $10 including tax.  Needless to say, that once I got that slap in the face, I paid more attention to the price per pound.

I have found some smaller Honey Crisps elsewhere that were priced about the same as other apples.  Probably an oversight by the grocer.

