Thanksgiving 2015 Early…

Danny normally works on the actual holiday, so we celebrate most holidays a week or two early.  Thanksgiving 2015  was celebrated on Sunday, November 22nd.

The highlights:

  • Saturday morning, a really good country ham, with red eye gravy, biscuits, and home fries at Helen’s Kitchen.  Two eggs over medium and coffee.
  • The house at 204 Johnson Blvd. in Jacksonville, NC is no more.  I was preparing to ride past it, and about the time I was finishing saying to 204johnson-coming-downmyself, “Well, at least I don’t have to pay the taxes on it any more…”

    I look to see no house, and a yellow CAT backhoe standing in what “used to be” the front yard.  I got out and took pictures.  A muddy pit exists where the house stood.

  • Mary Ann’s vehicle wasn’t at home so I rode down to Morehead City 20151121_120507via the beach road, and stopped at Fort Macon to use the bathroom.  I took a picture of the North Carolina flag flying just outside of the new FM Visitor’s Center because I realized it was one-sided and that the lettering, etc. appears backwards from one side of the flag.  *This is just like the picture of the Steamer CITY OF WILMINGTON that had a picture taken with the name WILMINGTON reversed… which makes some think the image should be reversed… unless they actually look at the name of the vessel on the bow of the boat and above the pilot house, where both are in the correct order.   A quick look in the gift shop and then back in the car to ride over to the Beaufort waterfront.
  • New bridge between Morehead City and Beaufort (B-side) is coming along.
  • Came back along Hwy. 24 through Swansboro.
  • I had breakfast on Sunday morning at the Hubert Grill.  The building is where Al & Cleo had a restaurant many years ago, when Sis was still alive and well.  They have a good breakfast.
  • The children were REALLY LOUD all during Thanksgiving dinner.
  • I meandered up to New Bern again on Monday morning on the way back to Fayetteville and stopped at the North Carolina History Center at Tryon Palace.  I did a detour through River Bend, and also stopped at a large antiques store.
  • The North Carolina History Center is a large new, modern facility with gift shop, cafe, Pepsi 3D historical village, local history museum, short orientation video and free (changing) exhibit.
    • I paid the $12 for one of the levels of daily tickets… which ended up being almost useless.  Don’t pay that if you are single and think the 3D village is going to be worth the price.  IT’s NOT!  The 3D village needs kids, a bunch of kids to be fun!  Maybe eight to ten kids in a group, or larger, to “man” the various video screened stations.
    • The local history museum section wasn’t of much interest for me.
    • I may have been told this before, but the original Tryon Palace burned years ago and there was little but part of the old horse stable HQ left.  But, in 1959 some influential women got together and the Palace was rebuilt on its original location from old plans, etc.  ***1959?  Well, that means that what I’ve gone through, when a child, growing up in Swansboro… and then with Debbie S. when in my late teens & early twenties… and then maybe 15 years ago, when there was a State IT Conference in New Bern, and Leo Taylor and myself took a brief tour of the facilities, the rebuilt facilities were 4 years younger than myself!  It’s almost all FAKE;-)
  • I took Hwy. 70 East, heading West from New Bern to Kinston.  I had decided to continue on Hwy. 70 from Kinston and turn off to get back to Seven Springs and Hwy. 50 to come into Newton Grove.  I stopped at the Kinstonian Family Restaurant for a late lunch.  Lunch was good country cooking.  There were even “fall off the bone” pigs feet which I had a second helping of.  The vegetable soup was good, although I added just a little sweetner.  I had unsweet tea, which I added several packets of artificial sweetner to.  Good pickled beets.  Fried chicken was good, but not outstanding.

ADDENDUM:  I just noticed from one of the pictures that the Gardenia bushes that were at the NWern end of the house are gone.  A shame!  They came from the neighbor, next door from where the old two-story Morton home was, on the corner of Hwy. 24 and Bear Creek Road.  And I noticed my previous visit down, that that old house was also gone.

