Shrimp & Hot Italian Sausage

  • Hot Italian Sausage (Whole Foods – Raleigh)
  • Cocktail Shrimp (frozen)
  • Leeks (round, white portion, sliced into rings)
  • Red Bell Pepper
  • Italian Parsley (chopped)
  • Dried Onion Flakes
  • Garlic powder
  • Celery Seeds
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Fresh Ground Pepper (mix)
  • Half & Half
  • Margarine (butter)
  • Olive oil

I tried this also with onion and a few ramp roots when I was out of leeks.  I also added some fennel seeds, which I suppose should be in the Italian sausage.  Used mixed red and yellow bell pepper and with the Italian Parsley most colorful.

This was something I cooked on the stove top after 1 am in the morning.  It turned out really, really, good!

The leek almost disappeared.  Needed more red bell pepper, and maybe sliced smaller.  The margarine and half & half were excellent touches that brought the sauce together.  I think the home fries, like those in the Helen’s Kitchen Country Ham Breakfast photo would go very well with this.  The crispy outside texture of the potatoes with the cream sauce, and then the softer potato inside, soaking up that sauce to the last drop;-)  Mmmmm, Good!

 

