Pastrami Reuben at Home

So, I had such a good experience with Reuben sandwiches during my short vacation, that I bought the fixin’s at Harris Teeter and attempted to make this at home.

I looked online to see what the ingredients were and they are basically as follows:

  • Pastrami
  • Swiss Cheese (Baby)
  • Rye Bread
  • Sauerkraut
  • Thousand Island Dressing
  • Butter or Margarine

 

I bought a cheap can of sauerkraut at HT, got the pastrami & baby swiss from their deli, sliced thin (for sandwiches), and had the baker slice a fresh loaf of rye bread.  Heat a skillet up on the stove top.

Construct the sandwich…  spread the Thousand Island dressing on both of the insides of the rye bread.  Put the cheese on top of one and the sauerkraut on the other.  Place the pastrami on one and fold the other slice on top to make the sandwich.  Then butter the outside of one, or both of the bread slices.  I tried buttering the top slice, while the other was frying in the skillet, and buttering both before placing one side in the skillet.  *Your preference as to how you do this.  You need a wide spatula in order to turn the sandwich over once one side has heated through.

I think the Thousand Island Dressing “turns” the sauerkraut, as a little sugar/sweetner turns vinegar.  The two go good together.

My first attempt was a wonderful success!  I forgot to add one of the chilled dill pickles that I had also purchased during my first attempt.  *I make a messy sandwich, but delicious.  I thought of making french fries, but decided against that, but later made some coleslaw (cabbage, carrot, onion, mayo, mustard, celery seed, ground pepper, salt, sweetner, dry tarragon) that was a good alternative.  I wouldn’t have thought of the coleslaw, but when I couldn’t get fries at Groucho’s in Florence and they had coleslaw, it was a better option than fries… although, if I were out at a restaurant, I would probably order fries several times, rather than slaw.

