Homemade Thousand Island Dressing

Here is where I found the recipe that I used ( http://www.kitchentreaty.com/homemade-thousand-island-dressing/ ):

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise*
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons sweet pickle relish
  • 2 teaspoons finely diced onion (I use red onion but yellow or white would work just fine)
  • 1/4 teaspoon finely minced garlic (about half of a small clove)
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1/8 teaspoon kosher salt plus more to taste
  • 2-3 dashes Tabasco sauce (optional)

Mount Olive Pickle Company offers several No Sugar (Splenda) items, including Relish, Bread & Butter Pickles and Sweet Gherkins.  I normally have several of these in my cupboard.  That is because I have found a few times, or groceries, that there were no Splenda versions available.  As often as I have bought a jar of relish, when I went to my refrigerator this morning, there was no opened jar, and looking about my pantry, there was none there either.  But, there were Bread & Butter Pickle slices sweetened with Splenda.  I opened the jar, put what I estimated would equal two tablespoons of relish into my little chopper and viola… sweet pickle relish (without the sugar).  I used the chopper to also make my finely diced onion (Vidalia).  I did not have fresh garlic, so I used a small portion of garlic powder.  I also had no regular Texas Pete or Tabasco Sauce, so I opened a specialty bottle of hot sauce.  I had some chipotle flavored hot sauces, but did not want to add that to the thousand island dressing.

I am just beginning to feel better after what may be a late spring bout of the flu.   So, I mixed the ingredients and tried a teaspoon for taste.  The color and texture appears to be about right, but my taste buds could barely identify the sweetness, let alone the nuance of flavors that should exist.  But, I have faith that this will be an excellent, easy to fix, recipe to make when I am planning to make some more Pastrami Reuben Sandwiches at home.

Now, for my two cents regarding where the name Thousand Island came from…  I am guessing that because of the relish bits that permeate this creamy dressing, that someone might have said, “It reminds me of the thousand islands around here.”

I’ve put my jar of homemade Thousand Island Dressing in my fridge and plan to use a little on some cauliflower and Campari tomatoes for a lunch salad about an hour from now.

