Homemade Salsa

I like to make homemade salsa using my little chopper.  *An aside… I found my stick blender attachment, hiding behind the counter door divider above my stove.  I had looked for it several months ago and wondered where I would have put it.  As I was moving something recently, it fell over from behind the divider.  It was just visually hidden.

I like the Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes from Hunts, but you can’t buy these, in any brand, that do not begin to put in a bunch of sugar.

Here are some of the things that I will put in my homemade salsa:

  • Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes
  • Vidalia Onion
  • Bell Pepper (Red, Yellow or Green)
  • Salsa Ranchera (Herdez)
  • Turmeric
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • Roasted Garlic (or garlic powder)
  • Cumin seed
  • Dry Basil (fresh if I have it)
  • Fresh cilantro
  • Lime juice
  • Splenda
  • Agave Nectar

I would prefer it to be chunky, but with this blender, it is almost smooth.

I bought a can of Herdez Salsa Ranchera Medium, but it is still pretty hot.  *Shown is the hot version.

 

 

