Minimalist Chess Sets I Like

I love the way these pieces fit together for storage. This is a simplistic pattern that could easily be repeated. Still my favorite is the tubular metal set.


This is my favorite minimalist chess set. The pieces are easily recognizable. The king & the queen are easily distinguishable. The bishops have a recognizable shape as do the rooks (castles). I especially like the knights, with the two sides having different helmet shapes. *I have started making a version of this set using PVC tubing. I have cut the individual pieces but have not started shaping the distinctive elements.

Not sure, but I must have seen a “pregnant” queen sitting on a throne some time ago, and then thought what Queen would be more viscous than if she were pregnant, so from then on, I wanted a chess set that had an obviously pregnant queen. Having said this, when I saw the tubular chess set, I imagined that you could symbolically create a pregnant queen by drilling a larger hole in the side of the queen and then gluing a marble to the piece thereby making a pregnant queen.

I’ve also seen a minimalist set that has a small protruding pipe, symbolizing a knight’s lance. You might use this piping in various ways to accent the other pieces. Maybe a cross on a pole being held by the bishop. Perhaps even a flag pole for the rook.

I was in a local antiques store and happened to see a package of wine bottle corks, and then I saw the above, both black & light corks, all about the same size. I realized that I could use these to create a similar set to the metal set above.

THEMED SETS I LIKE

ISLE OF LEWIS

I like this small Isle of Lewis Chess Set for two main reasons: The pawns are in the image of little warriors and the rooks look like castle turrets. Many other sets have a rook that looks like a large rune stone or a large warrior figure. In other sets, the pawns are small rune stones. I have seen something labeled “Berserker” that gives the figures a more warrior-like look.